Saturday, June 16, 2007




Sanat Kumara (Kumara = Kuma Ra =Guardian of the Divine Fire)

It is said by the Tibetan Buddhists that there is a land in the north named Shambhala, where everyone is happy. This land is ruled by a king, named Raudra Chakri. In the Alice Bailey and Theosophical literature he is called Sanat Kumara.

Raudra Chakri is the Buddhist "Ruler of Shambhala" and the "Lord of the World."

Sanat Kumara is also the being that is the Earthly representative of our Planetary Logos - the personality aspect of the Heavenly Man.

This article is a brief description of Sanat Kumara, derived from the western occult traditions.

uma Ra =Guardian of the Divine Fire

Other names for Sanat Kumara

The Seed

The Great Sacrifice

The One Initiator

The Voluntary Exile

The Silent Watcher


The One


The Lord of Flame

The Ancient One

The Mighty Lord of Fire

The Point of Blue within the hidden diamond

The Root-Base (relating to the Earth as the base center)

The Son of Will and Yoga (the first ray Monad--the first ray Rishi)

The One Set Apart (as all initiates are set apart)

The Tree (the chain of Hierarchy)

The Ever-Living-Human-Banyan

The First Hierophant

He who changes form, yet remains ever the same Lord of the Sacred Isle (or Shambhalla)

The First of the First

The One and the Supreme

The Youth of Eternal Summers

The Youth of Endless Summers

The Youth of Timeless Aeons

The Light of Life Itself

The Wondrous One

The Lord of Venusian Love

The Great Kumara within the Flaming Sword

The Peace of All the Earth Fountainhead of the Will of the Planetary Logos Jagan-Natha, Sanskrit for Lord of the World. ("Jagernath" is the common pronunciation. Hence the word: "juggernaut," irresistible force.)

Lokapati and Locan˛tha, the Lord of the World Vishnu Krishna Padmapani Chenresi (the lotus-bearer) or Avalokitesvara Chenresi Vanchug, the powerful and all-seeing Protector of Tibet Savior of Humanity Chantong, he of the 1,000 eyes Jigten-gonpo, Protector and Savior against evil

Hermes, the Interpreter

Sanat Kumara is thus the incarnation of our Planetary Logos, the manifestation of the Lord of the Ray of our Earth Scheme.

He keeps the world together in His awareness and in one sense, is the source and root of that which we call human consciousness. It is He who makes human evolution and initiation possible.

Three other exoteric Kumaras, known as the Buddhas of Activity, work with Sanat Kumara.

Yet another set of three Kumaras are also associated with Him in a more subjective manner, making seven Kumaras.

The six other Kumaras are representatives of the energies of other schemes. This makes four exoteric (Sanat Kumara and the Buddhas of Activity) and three esoteric Kumaras.

It is said that of these seven, "We have the four exoteric Kumaras, of Whom two fell, and the three esoteric, of whom One gathers the life forces of the four exoteric, making with Them the five" (Alice Bailey, A Treatise on Cosmic Fire, pp. 829) Thus we find these five Kumaras are concerned primarily with humanity and transmit the energy of MIND from Sirius.

These Kumaras are also related to the five major initiations and also to the five major etheric centers that relate the human being to the five planes of superhuman evolution.

Sanat Kumara is, thus, the personality, and the three Buddhas of Activity act as the three aspects of that personality. The three hidden Kumaras stand in the same relationship to Sanat Kumara as the three hidden Kingdoms of elemental lives--composing the elemental life of the etheric, astral, and mental vehicles--stands to the human being.

The "Silent Watcher" is, in this theory, the soul aspect. These, in turn are manifestations of the Planetary Logos just as the human soul-integrated personality is the manifestation of the monad.

The planetary Logos is the initiator of the four kingdoms via Sanat Kumara and the three Buddhas of Activity, initiating each kingdom via one of these Kumaras.

Thus Sanat Kumara is the initiator for the fourth, or human, kingdom.

Thus of all the Kumaras, the most important to us is the one named Sanat Kumara, or Highest Kumara.